I Love Math and Muffins. 

I am a first time mom. My little boy is 13 months old and eats anything and everything. I want him to eat healthy and even made his baby food. Now I cook everything fresh for him.  Poptarts are perfectly fine for me to eat for breakfast, but my boy is eating real food. My husband is loving all the home cooking he is finally getting after 6 years of marriage.

 Well, tonight I wanted to make him blueberry muffins for breakfast in the morning. My mini muffin tin makes 24 muffins. I freeze most of them so that in the mornings my hubby can just defrost one for Baby Boy along with some fruit and oatmeal and he’s good to go. I found a recipe at Inspired Taste that I really wanted to try. I made their strawberry muffin recipe a few weeks ago and it was delicious, so wanted to try their blueberry muffin recipe. The problem was this recipe only yields 8 muffins. Mini muffins are almost half a regular muffin which would leave me with 8 empty muffin tins! The author said to add water to the pan in the empty ones but if I’m going to cook I want to fill it up. So, then came the math. 

If a full recipe yields 8 muffins and I essentially need 12 then if I add a half of the recipe that would be my twelve muffins. For some reason whenever I make muffins I always end up making about 2 more than the recipe calls for, so I thought half would be too much. The first ingredient was 1 1/2 cups of flour (I did half white and half whole wheat). I thought, “Well, that’s easy to make an additional 1/3 of, so I’ll just add a third of all ingredients and it should be perfect!” 

This math was fairly easy to begin with and quite exciting as I love working with fractions and seeing how much you do need math in the real world. Then, I got to 1/2 a teaspoon salt. A third of a half…a half is the same as 3/6 so I need another 1/6…4/6 is the same as 2/3. I needed 2/3 teaspoon of salt. Problem. I didn’t have a 1/3 measuring spoon. This is when my estimating skills came into play and I eyeballed 2/3 out of a 1 tsp measuring spoon. I had to do this with a few ingredients. Another problem. How do you take 1/3 of an egg? Again…estimation. 

I added the blueberries and started filling the muffin tin. I had left over batter!!! I, of course, was not going to throw it out…so got out my muffin tin that holds 6 and filled 3 regular size muffins. They all turned out delicious. 

What I took away besides that I need a 1/3 measuring spoon: I wish my students were older than second grade so I could use this recipe as a task. Ideas: If I add 1/3 of the recipe, what are the measurements I need for next time? Since my new recipe made 3 regular sized muffins plus 24 mini muffins, would the original recipe for 8 work or should I add another fractional part? Maybe 1/4? How much of a difference is a regular muffin from a mini muffin? Is it one half? What if I want 6 regular muffins so that my tin is full, and my hubby and I can eat those, along with the 24 mini muffins for the baby? How many blueberries do I need so they all have the same amount?

Oh how I love math. And muffins.  

    

About Christy S

I am a math teacher that LOVES mathematics and wants to continually improve to make math make sense to elementary students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

