Math ABCs

Last year during post planning, we attended a guided reading workshop. It was interesting, but since I don’t teach reading, I was only able to take away a few ideas that I could apply in my math class or when I teach Science and Social Studies. One thing our presenter suggested was to have students create the alphabet letters that hang above most elementary school teachers’ boards. I know I had one…granted I’m not a “cutesy” teacher so it was just the alphabet without pictures. She suggested that students each get a letter (some more than one if you have less than 26 students) and they draw a picture of something that starts with that letter. I thought, “I could do this with math words!!”

This was a lot harder than I originally thought. My partner teacher, that teaches ELA, had a plethora of alphabet books to read to our students to create her alphabet chart to get ideas for different words beginning with each letter. When I looked for a math ABC book, the only one I could find is G is for Googol, which was a little too advanced for my students. So, I improvised. My students and I took it one letter at a time. We started with A and brainstormed every math word we could think of that started with an A…as long as they could tell me how it related to math I wrote down their ideas. We did this over the course of about 2 weeks in our “spare” time until we finished the alphabet. The only ones I had to really help them with was V, X, and Y. I was very surprised at all the ideas they had for each letter!

When it got time to create, I typed all their ideas under the correct letter. My students then pulled a letter out of a cup and got to pick which word they wanted to illustrate. I’m very pleased with the results and my students are so proud of their alphabet chart!

A: Adding B: Bond C: Chart D: Dice

A: Adding
B: Bond
C: Chart
D: Dice

E: Equation F: Facts G: Geometry  H: Hexagon

E: Equation
F: Facts
G: Geometry
H: Hexagon

I: Infinity J: Jumps on a number line K: Kite L: Line

I: Infinity
J: Jumps on a number line
K: Kite
L: Line

M: Money N: Number line O: Oval P: Penny

M: Money
N: Number line
O: Oval
P: Penny

Q: Quarter R: Rek-en-rek S: Shapes T: Ten

Q: Quarter
R: Rek-en-rek
S: Shapes
T: Ten

IMG_1941

U: Units V: Venn Diagram W: Whole numbers

X: X-axis Y: y-axis Z: Zero

X: X-axis
Y: y-axis
Z: Zero

About Christy S

I am a math teacher that LOVES mathematics and wants to continually improve to make math make sense to elementary students.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

